FEMA Opens Disaster Centers to Assist Michigan Residents Impacted by 2023 Storms


While the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that struck Michigan in August 2023 occurred several months ago, residents impacted by the disaster can still access federal assistance. Here's a breakdown of the current situation:

Disaster Declaration and Eligibility:

  • On February 8, 2024, President Biden declared a major disaster for areas affected by the storms. This declaration makes federal assistance available to individuals and households in nine Michigan counties: Eaton, Ingham, Ionia, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, and Wayn.

 Read More


Disaster Recovery Centers:

  • Although some centers have closed, a few remain operational as of February 28, 2024, offering in-person assistance:
    • Wayne County (Canton): Open until further notice.
    • Macomb County (Chesterfield): Open until further notice.
  • These centers provide a one-stop shop for survivors, with specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) available to:
    • Help residents apply for federal disaster assistance.
    • Upload documents related to their applications.
    • Answer questions and provide information on available resources, including disaster preparedness and mitigation measures.

Alternative Application Methods:

  • Residents don't need to visit a physical center to apply for assistance. They can also:


Important Note: The deadline to apply for FEMA assistance is July 8, 2024. It's crucial for affected residents to apply before this deadline to ensure they receive the help they need to recover from the disaster.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post